Background and Details

Oxford Big Read Reading Competition aims to promote the love of reading English books among children and provides a great chance for children to showcase their learning achievements. The competition is open to users of Oxford Reading Club, the brand-new e-reading platform. Winners will be awarded a certificate of honor and fabulous prizes! The outstanding pieces of work will also be selected to participate in the global competition, children may compete with contestants from all over the world! All entrants will receive an Oxford Story Tree sticker (limited-edition) by mail.


 
Objectives
 
‧ To encourage children in self-directed reading and to promote the love of reading
‧ To help children in building a solid foundation in learning English and expanding their vocabulary
‧ To showcase children’s learning outcome through the competition.

Campaign
 
The competition is divided into 3 groups; Kindergarten (K1 to K3), Junior Primary (P1 to P3) and Senior Primary (P4 to P6). Application is open since 1st June 2022. Children may showcase their talent and the outstanding pieces of work will also be selected to participate in the global competition.

Competition (1st June – 19th August)
To participate in the competition, please complete the designated project forms. The following are the competition topic of each group:

Kindergarten (K1 to K3) – OUP Book Poster
Junior Primary (P1 to P3) - OUP Book Cover
Senior Primary (P4 to P6) - OUP Book Review

The panel of judges from OUP will select 2 contestants from each group to receive "Best OUP Book Poster", "Best OUP Book Cover" and “Best OUP Book Review” awards. Winners will receive a certificate of honor and HK$1,000 OUP Online Store gift card! The outstanding pieces of work will also be selected to participate in the global competition, so that children may compete with contestants from all over the world!

Competition Details
 
The following are the competition topics of each group (submission deadline: 19th Aug 2022 11:59pm) :

Kindergarten (K1 to K3) – OUP Book Poster
Contestants need to design a book poster for an OUP book they have read. Imagine the chosen book is about to be published, and design a book poster to introduce it to others. Key information about the book like the book cover, title, author, illustration, etc. should be included. Contestants may draw inspirations from a real book poster to ensure they have included everything needed. They can also draw their favourite character or scene from the story in the book poster. Use your imagination to make your project stand out!

Project forms are suggested to be printed in A4 format. Before submitting your piece of work, please make sure that you have included your personal information, book title and author.
Junior Primary (P1 to P3) - OUP Book Cover
Contestants need to design a book cover for an OUP book they have read, including key information about the book like the book title, author, illustration, book spine, etc. Contestants may draw inspiration from a real book cover to ensure they have included everything needed. They may also draw their favourite character or scene from the story as the book cover. In addition, please use 10 to 50 words to explain the reason for choosing this book. Use your imagination to make your project stand out!

Project forms are suggested to be printed in A4 format. Before submitting your piece of work, please make sure that you have included your personal information, book title and author.
Senior Primary (P4 to P6) - OUP Book Review
Contestants need to write a book review on an OUP book, one that they love or would like to share with others. Maybe it's a book that inspired them or one that they just couldn't put down. Using 100 to 300 words, contestants need to share with us their thoughts and comments about the book as well as what they would change about the story if they could and why. Use your imagination to make your project stand out!

Project forms are suggested to be printed in A4 format. Before submitting your piece of work, please make sure that you have included your personal information, book title and author.

Entry and Books
 
Books
For the competition, children must select one OUP book to participate in. Contestants can read the English ebooks on Oxford Reading Club or borrow books from public libraries.

Entry
To participate in the Oxford Big Read campaign, children must have an Oxford Reading Club account (both paid or free trial account are accepted). Contestants need to download and submit the completed project form to the online application system.
 

Register/Having an Oxford Reading Club
Student Account

 

Download project form
according to age

 

Complete submission
through this link
by 19th August, 11:59pm

 

Application completed


 

Oxford Big Read Reading Competition application form

* Required
 

Acknowledgement by Parent

  • I authorize Oxford University Press (China) Limited the copyright to all entries and will have the right to use all entries in publicity, exhibition or publication purposes. Prior notice or payment to participants for the copyright is not required.
  • I agree to allow Oxford University Press (China) Limited to keep record of my child’s (named above) pieces of work and grant permission for these to be used by Oxford University Press (China) Limited for promotional purpose in publications, press articles, websites or any other kind of promotional materials.
  • I accept and understand that if any dispute arises, the decision of Oxford University Press (China) Limited shall be final.

Privacy Policy Statement

Our Privacy Policy sets out how Oxford University Press handles your personal information, and your rights to object to your personal information being used for marketing to you or being processed as part of our business activities.

背景及詳情
 

為培養孩子自主閱讀英文書籍的興趣及習慣,牛津大學出版社再度於香港舉辦Oxford Big Read閱讀創作比賽,旨在讓孩子由閱讀出發,各展所長。家長只需替孩子簡單登記一個Oxford Reading Club電子閱讀平台學生帳戶(付費或免費試用帳戶均可),即可免費參加比賽贏取豐富禮品,優勝者更有機會代表香港參與國際評選。所有參賽者均可獲贈限量版Oxford Story Tree貼紙乙張(郵寄至通訊地址)。


計劃目的
 
‧鼓勵孩子主動接觸及閱讀英文書籍,從而培養自主閱讀習慣。
‧循序漸進為孩子打好英文詞彙基礎,擴闊生字詞庫。
‧讓孩子透過是次比賽展現學習成果。

計劃內容
 
Oxford Big Read閱讀創作比賽於2022年6月1日開始,設有3個年齡組別,讓小朋友可展現不同階段的閱讀成果,優勝者更有機會參與全球評選,與世界各地以非英語為母語的孩子競技一番!

創作比賽(2022年6月1日至8月19日)

幼稚園組 (K1至K3) – OUP Book Poster (牛津書籍海報創作)
初小組 (P1至P3) – OUP Book Cover (牛津書籍封面設計)
高小組 (P4至P6) – OUP Book Review (牛津書籍讀後感創作)

牛津大學出版社專業評審團將會於各個組別中挑選各2位參賽者,授予「最佳牛津書籍海報創作」,「最佳牛津書籍封面設計」和「最佳牛津書籍讀後感創作」獎項。得獎者將獲頒榮譽獎狀及豐富獎品,更會被提名參與全球評選,代表香港爭取國際殊榮!

比賽詳情
 
創作比賽分為三個組別,遞交作品截止日期為2022年8月19日晚上11時59分:

[幼稚園組:K1至K3] OUP Book Poster (牛津書籍海報創作)
參賽小朋友需要以一本牛津書籍為中心,為這本書設計一張宣傳海報。試想像小朋友所選擇了的牛津書籍即將出版發售,你需要為這本書設計一張海報推介給其他人。海報應該包含書名、作者和插圖等重要內容。小朋友也可以在海報中加入自己喜歡的角色或場景作點綴。比賽講求創意與吸引力,小朋友應發揮自己的想像力脫穎而出!

參賽表格建議以A4尺寸列印,於提交比賽作品前,小朋友請確認已於指定位置填上個人資料、書名和作者等資訊。
[初小組:P1至P3] OUP Book Cover (牛津書籍封面設計)
參賽小朋友需要以一本牛津書籍為中心,為這本書設計一個封面。封面應該包含書名、作者、插圖、書脊等重要內容。小朋友可以看看真正的封面,這樣就會知道封面應包含的所有內容。小朋友也可以從故事中抽取自己喜歡的角色或場景作為書籍封面。另外,請用10至50個英文字詞來解釋選擇這本書的原因。比賽講求創意與吸引力,小朋友應發揮自己的想像力脫穎而出!

參賽表格建議以A4尺寸列印,於提交比賽作品前,小朋友請確認已於指定位置填上個人資料、書名和作者等資訊。
[高小組:P4至P6] OUP Book Review (牛津書籍讀後感創作)
參賽小朋友需要以一本牛津書籍為中心,為這本書寫上讀後感。你或許會想到一本十分喜歡的書籍,迫不及待地想要與人分享,又或是一本能夠啟發你的書籍,讓你難以忘懷。請用100至300個英文字詞分享自己的反思和啟發,並告訴我們你將如何改編故事和其原因。比賽講求創意與吸引力,小朋友應發揮自己的想像力脫穎而出!

參賽表格建議以A4尺寸列印,於提交比賽作品前,小朋友請確認已於指定位置填上個人資料、書名和作者等資訊。


參加方法及書籍
 
參賽書籍
參賽小朋友必須以牛津大學出版社的英文書籍參加創作比賽,書籍可於Oxford Reading Club電子閱讀平台中閱讀,或於各大圖書館借閱。
 
參加方法
小朋友必須擁有一個Oxford Reading Club電子閱讀平台學生帳戶(付款帳戶或免費試用帳戶均可),方可報名參與此計劃。參賽者需根據年齡下載所屬組別之參賽表格,並於截止日期前上載作品及填妥所需資料以完成報名。
 

登記/擁有一個
Oxford Reading Club
電子閱讀平台
學生帳戶

 

根據年齡
下載參賽表格

 

於8月19日
晚上11時59分之前
按此連結
上載作品及填妥資料

 

完成報名


Oxford Big Read 報名表

* 必須填寫
 

家長確認

  • 本人授權牛津大學出版社(中國)有限公司擁有所有參賽作品之版權,並有權將所有參賽作品用於宣傳、展覽或出版目的,毋須事先通知或向參與者支付版權費用。
  • 本人同意允許牛津大學出版社(中國)有限公司記錄本人孩子(上述)的作品,並允許牛津大學出版社(中國)有限公司在出版物、新聞文章、網站中使用這些作品進行宣傳或任何其他類型的宣傳材料。
  • 本人接受並理解,如有任何爭議,牛津大學出版社(中國)有限公司保留最終決定權。

隱私政策聲明

牛津大學出版社的 私隱政策 規定本社如何處理閣下的個人資料,並保障閣下拒絕個人資料用於本社市務推廣或營業活動的權利。